Justin Verlander Wins Cy Young Award

Congratulations to Justin Verlander for winning the Cy Young Award, recognizing him as the best pitcher in the American League this year.

The Tigers didn’t make it to the World Series this year, but Detroit Tiger fans everywhere are celebrating Justin Verlander winning the American League Cy Young Award. (No big surprise really.) The Cy Young Award is an honor given annually in baseball to the best pitchers in Major League Baseball (MLB), one each for the American League (AL) and National League (NL). The award was first introduced in 1956 by Baseball Commissioner Ford Frick in honor of Hall of Fame pitcher Cy Young, who died in 1955. The award was originally given to the single best pitcher in the major leagues, but in 1967, after the retirement of Frick, the award was given to one pitcher in each league. The last Detroit Tigers’ player to win was Guillermo Hernandez back in 1984. Congratulations to Justin on this well-deserved honor.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *